23 and Asian Me: Part 3 of 3

ETHNICITY

So… I’m only half-Vietnamese. Interesting since both sides are Vietnamese, I’d say each side has a little bit (actually a lot) of Chinese to make me 50%– and that goes for my grandparents, great grandparents, great-great parents and beyond.

Remember: I have records on my paternal-paternal side– and it’s as far Vietnamese as it goes back. However! There is the issue with my last name originally deriving from a Chinese name. My paternal grandmother’s last name is as far back as Vietnamese as it can possibly go. As of this moment– no info on my paternal’s maternal side of the family.

Vietnam is a tiny country right next to China. It’s no surprise that anyone is part anything but Vietnamese. Now we get deep into some research. My “Vietnamese” is not the “original” Vietnamese. Think Americans VS Native Americans or Australian VS Aborigine Australians. According to Wikipedia, there are 9 different groups. I won’t get into it too much.

Until I can convince my brother to take this DNA test, I cannot tell what I got from my dad and what I got from my mom. He took this test once years ago, and though I’ve wondered if the tests have become more advanced since then– he has not taken the current 23AndMe test.

MY SURNAME

I know from my paternal, paternal side that I am as far back as Vietnamese goes. The records go all the way back to the dead Vietnamese language. “Truong” is also a variation of the Chinese surname “Zhang”– the most common surname. No help at all. From what I can gather, it is the “Smith” of Asian surnames.

THE HEALTH RESULTS

To be honest– there really wasn’t anything I didn’t already know.

I am 99% tolerant of everything– just not milk. I can have milk, but I’m not going to sit there and eat a quart of Greek yogurt. Nope. Not for me. But I already knew that.

Leave a Reply

